March 13, 2022 – Immigrant Stories

  • 4:00 PM
  • Gorton Community Center
    400 E. Illinois Road
    Lake Forest, IL 60045

Immigrant Stories

The LFCO celebrates the contributions that immigrants have made to the American musical scene. Antonín Dvořák composed his pastoral Sixth Symphony in 1880, 12 years before he would immigrate to New York to lead the newly founded National Conservatory of Music. The opera Andina was written by Columbian composer Eustasio Rosales after he immigrated to Oak Park at the turn of the century. This opera was left unplayed for decades before being premiered in a concert version in Chicago in 2015. The LFCO will perform an orchestral suite of music from the opera, arranged by Music Director Christopher Ramaekers.

This concert will feature Eva Sharman, a Lake Forest High School senior, who will perform the first movement of Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 2. Written from 1900 to 1901, this piece established Rachmaninoff as a legitimate concerto composer, and was a piece that he himself played as soloist. Rachmaninoff emigrated from Russia to the United States in 1917, where he worked primarily as a concert pianist. 


  • Dvořák – Symphony No. 6 in D Major
  • Rosales – Three Spanish Dances
  • Rachmaninoff – Piano Concerto No. 2 – Eva Sharman, Piano

Ticket Prices:

  • $20 Adults
  • $10 Students and Seniors


Ticket Type

Purchase Shout Outs

Show your favorite musician your support by purchasing a Shout Out to be printed in the concert program book. Shout outs are available in 1/4, 1/2, and full-page formats, are tax deductible, and may be purchased on this page. 1/2 page and full-page formats can include an image. Please purchase the shout out and then complete a quick form to provide shout out details. If you have questions about shout outs, please email info@lakeforestcivicorchestra.org with questions. Shout outs must be purchased by March 6th to allow time for layout and printing.

Shout Out Sizes

Lake Forest Civic Orchestra
P.O. Box 889
Lake Forest, IL 60045